Helmsley 01439 772465 York 01904 700189

Here are our latest reviews on Tripadvisor:


Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 awarded to Scotts of Helmsley1Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 for Scotts of Helmsley

Best of the best

Your fish and chip is simply best of the best. We have visited quite a few fish and chip shops across the country, including the one in Anstruther where Prince William has been, but I have to say yours is second to none. The fish is so fresh and flaky, chips have a very light crunchy coating which is our son’s favourite. We will definitely be back very soon.

Minh N

5 Stars, December 2015

WOW WEE – great fish and chips!

Wow-WEE what great fish and chips. The food was heaven, very tasty, well presented and delicious! Great value for money, not overly priced and won’t dint your wallet! Service was outstanding and with warm and friendly staff, couldn’t have been more helpful. Overal, 10 out of 10! Definitely will be back real soon

TheOuchPoucher

5 Stars, December 2015

Excellent

Had a very enjoyable fish and chips supper in the restaurant Mollie our waitress was excellent. She was very helpful. Will definitely go back again

Elizabeth G

5 Stars, December 2015

That girl can fry wheat free batter

Called into Scotts for lunch. Natalie made me brilliant wheat free batter fish and chips. Never disappointed at Scott’s.

Greyfergy

5 Stars, December 2015

Best Fish and Chips Ever

Visited Scotts of Helmsley recently and had the best fish and chips ever. Served by the friendliest staff Mollie and Lewis. Would highly recommend and will certainly be visiting again.

Sandra O

5 Stars, December 2015

I can’t thank the staff enough for a wonderful evening meal My daughter and I visited the restaurant last week and I have to say it is even better than before. The staff are super friendly and the choice is fantastic! We both had the Captain Scotts £9.95 special with tea and bread. I made room for the treacle tart with custard and Jess had the locally made black forest gateaux. Well done to Scotts for going from strength to strength and I hope to come back on my 75th birthday. Jenny M

5 Stars, November 2015

Best fish and chips ever! These people make the best gluten free fish and chips ever. I enjoyed them thoroughly and ate with confidence. I would recommend to anyone whether gluten free or not as the service is excellent. A must to buy before you leave is a jar of their own homemade tartar sauce which is the best. This experience has now spoilt me and I no longer want to eat fish and chips anywhere else!!! adele o

5 Stars, November 2015

Fantastic fish and chips My husband and I had a meal here on a Friday evening and I would heartily recommend it. I had gluten free-battered cod and it was one of the best fish and chips I’ve had. Good mushy peas too. Welcoming staff and a great place to eat. Ruth A

5 Stars, November 2015

Excellent food and very quick service We have used Scotts of Helmsley many times and always had excellent service and food. The staff in the restaurant that day (Lewis and Becky) were as usual quick and courteous. Colin A

5 Stars, November 2015

Best fish cake We used the take away while staying in Helmsley. The chips were great but the fish cake (home-made) was the BEST fish cake I have ever tasted. The rest of the family had fish and sausages and they were enjoyed as well. nigel_anthea

5 Stars, November 2015

Exellent Visited yesterday for lunch. Was greeted at door by a very friendly waitress and shown to a table. We ordered the golden special my wife the haddock myself the cod. It arrived ex freshly cooked and was quite a large portion. The fish was very firm moist and well cooked and thr batter was very Crispy. After the main course we had the ice cream that was to die for. Well recommended foster-stephen54

5 Stars, October 2015

Never disappoints! Enjoyed a lovely supper tonight of Haddock, chips and mushy peas. Portion sizes generous, cooked to order, absolutely delicious. Emma M

5 Stars, October 2015

Excellent fish and chips, good atmosphere and service We dropped in on spec on our way back from Skipton heading for Wiltshire. We had never been there before but were most pleasantly surprised at the high standard of food and service from your colleague Chris. edgertj

5 Stars, October 2015

One very happy Mummy. Myself, my husband, two friends and six kids turned up unannounced after spontaneously deciding to celebrate my four year olds birthday with fish and chips. I had’t booked at table, ten of us just turned up! The staff at Scotts kept smiling and being uber helpful, even when the kids got a bit rowdy. The service was very quick and the food was delicious, we all had clean plates. I am so impressed with how well they dealt with us turning up and with how good they were with the kids. 10/10. bebeCrosby

5 Stars, October 2015

“Excellent fish and chips excellent service We have been several times at quiet and busy times and always had quick friendly service and fish and chips are always top notch .If you can find a 2 for 1 coupon in one of the yorkshire tourist books better still. ianbee2015

5 Stars, October 2015

Thank You Scotts Wonderful fish and chips. This was the second occasion I had the privilege of visiting Scott’s. On both occasions bearing in mind I am a dog owner ordered fish and chips takeaway but enjoyed the table and chairs situated immediately outside the shop to immerse myself in the quality of food provided. I visited in 2014 and was looking forward to visiting the venue during my stay in North Yorkshiire and was not disappointed when the time arrived to again experience the food provided. The fish was cooked in a light crispy batter and portion size more than adequate. Looking forward to my next visit. Ian M

5 Stars, September 2015

Wish you were nearer Discovered by accident but WOW! Friendly staff and as for the Fish and Chips only two words necessary – SIMPLY OUTSTANDING. How an earlier review can describe the paint work as horrendous beggars belief – simply charming. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. PERENOM

5 Stars, September 2015

Great Fish and Chips Visited yesterday with my wife for tea, I had fish and chips with homemade tartar sauce and they are probably the best fish and chips I have ever had, my wife had salmon in cider batter with sweet potato chips with salad which she said was really nice, we finished off with some deserts which were equally as nice, service is also great with staff very polite, really worth visit if you are in the area. leonfr

5 Stars, September 2015

Scott Fish & Chips We visited Scotts Fish & Chips Restaurant in Helmsley. I would strongly recommend visiting as the food is first class, the restaurant is very clean & quite colourful with lights on each step of the stairs to the upper floor & the staff are very friendly the only downside is that there was nowhere to put my mobility scooter If you visit wearing a wristband from the International Centre for Birds of Prey you get a discount on food. I would urge you to visit & you will not be disappointed. Jennifer S

5 Stars, September 2015

Brilliant fish and chips the night before our wedding A large group of my family and friends descended on SCOTTS the night before my wedding. The food was wonderful and the service was brilliant. MissChloeScarlett

5 Stars, September 2015

Excellent Gluten Free Fish and Chips So good that my wife was worried they might not be gluten free because the taste was so exceptional – however they were! I had ‘ordinary’ fish and chips and they were very good too. HemsworthRedS

5 Stars, August 2015

Best fish I’ve ever tasted Having been to a number of different fish and chip shops, including those at the coast, this has got to be the best fish I’ve ever had. You can eat in or take away , but either way I’ve never had a bad one yet . BellaSar73

5 Stars, August 2015

Proper Fish & Chips Cracking little restaurant, fish & chips cooked to perfection and tasting like they should. The kids meals were pretty big but good quality never the less. Friendly efficient staff, definitely go back if we’re in the area again. Iain H

5 Stars, August 2015

Yummy desserts for those seeking Gluten free We haven’t been in to eat as yet we just got desserts to eat out. Fantastic to see gluten free food on the menu. Will be back during the week for the gluten free fish and chips. FudgeLiverpool

5 Stars, August 2015

Best fish and chips going. On moving to Pickering in November 2014 I was so pleased to find a fish and chip shop that tasted like the fish I used to eat before I found out I was coeliac we are now regulars at Scotts and the friendly service from Lewis. Would recommend to any one who enjoys there fish and chips coeliac or not. bellabella702

5 Stars, August 2015

fantastic fish and chips My brother and I were spending a weekend in North Yorkshire taking a ‘trip down memory lane’. We were especially wanting to visit Lastingham, where our late parents often stayed. We stopped at Helmsley, as we love the traditional Yorkshire market town, and were planning on a pub lunch…. until we sauntered past Sootts, and in true ‘Bisto Kids’ fashion our nostrils were filled with the delightful smell of fish and chips; both of us thought the same thing and in we went. Scotts is a bit like the tardis – much larger than you imagine when you see it from outside, it was pretty busy so we went upstairs; we sat at a table for 2 and Natalie, our server, greeted us. We ordered – my brother deciding upon the Moby Dick special… it was at this point that we were advised to move to a table for 4 as the plate would struggle to fit onto the table we had chosen. We were not disappointed, the fish and chips were absolutely delicious…. crisp dry batter, beautifully white fish and fantastic chips, heaven! It took us both back to our youth, and days of Harry Ramsdens… we both live well south of Yorkshire now – but I can recommend Scotts of Helmsley – the location, food and service were all second to none! We will be back! Alyson C

5 Stars, July 2015

Just as good the second time We returned to Helmsley for another event at the Arts Centre, accompanied this time by our daughter, and having extolled the virtues of this fine chippy, we felt obliged to drop in again for a meal before the performance. Delighted to report that it was every bit as good, with crisply battered, succulent and flavoursome haddock, crisp chips and mushy peas. Service was brisk and cheerful, and the servers took note of our need to depart in time for the performance. In fact we had time for a stroll round the centre of this delightful market town. Strongly recommended yet again. And for what it’s worth, my cousin, who’s been a Whitby resident all her adult life, also thinks that your food is better than Whitby’s two national award winners! robertlouis50

5 Stars, July 2015

gluten free options Ate here today after hearing about it on a coeliac fb site. My two celiac kids had gf fish and chips and my son had crayfish starter as well ..have to say both were delighted with their meals and my son couldn’t finish his. We also had three non gluten free meals which were fantastic… Hats off to a fantastic place xxxx lfarmer2013

5 Stars, July 2015

Gluten Free Friendly Ate here twice this weekend. Once using the take away and once in the resturant. Takeaway staff extremely friendly. No trouble cooking the gluten free fish and chips. Make sure your hungry cause there is plenty. Cooked to perfection. Crystal served us that night. We were so impressed we came for tea the next day. It isn’t often I can find a fish shop that does gluten free fish and chips. Used the resturant the second time as the steam fair was in town and the place was heaving. Good service,friendly staff. Food wasn’t as plentiful as the night before which was a bit of a disappointment. Quality was first class. Fresh, clean and no grease . Definitely worth a vist. Well done Heyskippy2014

5 Stars, July 2015

Sunday lunch A snap decision to have a fish and chip lunch turned out to be one of my better ideas choosing this restaurant sealed the deal. Very friendly staff who were attentive and keen to please serving well cooked fish and chips for six people at a reasonable price, I’m sure the takeaway side is also a good bet too (i’ll be back to check) Mark B

5 Stars, July 2015

Lovely Food in a Charming Market Town We stopped for lunch here after exploring Helmsley Castle, the fish and chips were excellent!!We will definitely be back next time we are in the area!! 7KLancaster

5 Stars, June 2015

good fish shop This is a good place to get decent fish and chips and a good rest stop good staff and service.Worth a visit when you are in the area. Jamesbir

5 Stars, June 2015

Good food in a quieter place Found this place a bit away from the centre of the town, as I was looking for an ‘easier’ place to eat. Found the ‘Fish and Chips’ signage which is fine. But the place was more than that. Nice look, good food, smaller but quieter place and good service. Price was not the ‘fish and chips’ shop I expect, but worth it. JuanitoC4

5 Stars, June 2015

Excellent food & lovely friendly staff superb, delicious food & very good value. lovely friendly staff. Lewis & Beckie in the take away shop are so polite & gave service with a smile as well as good advise about the local area. We will certainly be stopping off for fish & chips when we are back in the area. Mandm37a

5 Stars, June 2015

Fantastic Shop! Truly fantastic, good value and well worth a visit. A real must and your eating pure heaven food, wholesome and tasty! TheOuchPoucher

5 Stars, June 2015

“Wow” Being wheat, vinegar and Malt extract intolerant ,it is not easy to eat out. What a Gem of a place. Natalie fried the best wheat free battered fish I have ever had. Just perfect and they also have non brewed condiment. We went back three days later to the restaurant . Brilliant fish and chips and wonderful staff.

Greyfergie

5 Stars, Visited May 2015

“Gluten-free batter on excellent fish” We went to try the gluten-free cooking, on fish and chips a rare treat in rural North Yorkshire. The batter was great, but the fish was a lovely 8 ounce cut, supported by chips and mushy peas. The staff came out with the appropriate vinegar. After the fish we could have a sweet from a lovely display of cakes, and, to my surprise, one was gluten-free.

dcsearle27

5 Stars, Visited May 2015

“Look no further for your fish and chips!” Scott’s serve excellent quality fish and chips, served in clean, pleasant surroundings by friendly staff. The small portion fish with all the trimmings was ample, and very good value for money. What’s not to like?!

Pamela Maria C

5 Stars, Visited May 2015

“Amazing fish & chips” Just had a “moby dick” sized portion for an early evening dinner–we could tell we were back in Yorkshire it was an amazingly good portion of battered cod. We live in Devon and have a few good chippies nearby but this is the best we have had.

cruisecrazyuk

5 Stars, Visited May 2015

“Some of the best fish we’ve ever had” We visited for late lunch on a Sunday and expected the restaurant to be packed. We were pleasantly surprised, as there were only two other tables occupied. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. When our fish arrived (very quickly considering fried to order) we both thought they would be all batter and no fish, due to the size of them. We couldn’t have been more wrong! Pure white, meaty & tasty fish in a crisp, fresh batter. Chips were crisp & nicely cooked too. Depends what you want here, as not an upmarket environment but you can’t beat fish & chips when they’re cooked to perfection like these & served with a friendly smile. FMBRA2013

5 Stars, Visited May 2015

Once again excellent We often call at Scotts when visiting family in York Its always a friendly welcome with first class food and service. Our waitress Maisie was a credit to the company – nothing too much trouble its a must if using the A64 between York and the A1 Looking forward to our next visit yorkystew

5 Stars, Visited April 2015

excellent ! wonderful service, fabulous fish and salad, loved it ! Daughter had fish chips and mushy peas, son in law had sausage and chips could not fault the food or the service, thank you Jojaz

5 Stars, Visited April 2015

Yummy! We enjoyed our first takeaway from here so much that we returned again later in the week ! Delicious chips, delicious flaky fish! And even gluten free batter 🙂 The only negative I could give (And it isn’t a huge deal) is that the boxes used for takeaway do let out a bit of the foods heat. Although we did take a short drive home before eating and it was still warm enough to eat. Not a complaint- just an observation. Loganberry202

5 Stars, Visited April 2015

Great end to our tour Ended our 4 day trip to N. Yorks on Monday with a visit to Helmsley and opted to try Scott’s for fish and chips rather than a ‘posh’ restaurant meal. Waitress was friendly, service efficient and most importantly the food was excellent – I decided to ‘fill up’ on a ‘Moby dick’ 14oz icelandic cod prior to my 2.5 hour drive home. This was huge, chunky thick fillet with fresh & tasty batter which unlike some restaurants was not greasy at all. Biggest fish I’ve ever been served and actually tasted better than the Icelandic cod I had in Iceland last month! Peas and chips good too. Price was fair – although only slight gripe is i think £1.20 for 1 slice of bread is pushing it a bit especially if you’re already spending over 30 quid. Nonetheless, would definitely return when in area.good bazpool

5 Stars, Visited April 2015

Quick pit stop and takeaway in Hemsley Ordered a couple of portions of cod and chips. Lovely quality fish, nice batter and good chips; what more do you want from a fish and chip shop?! mmps

5 Stars, Visited April 2015

Fabulous fish and Chips, Friendly Service My husband wasn’t very keen to go to Scotts at first as he wanted to go somewhere more fancy, however I’d read the reviews on here and persuaded him he would enjoy it. Thank goodness I was right, the fish and chips was gorgeous, freshly cooked, light golden batter and thick chunky flaky cod, tasty chips and just right mushy peas (I’m salivating just writing this down) even the tartare sauce was somehow tastier than usual. Thank goodness we didn’t have the giant portion as we were stuffed with just the regular size meal. Very quick and efficient service by our lovely friendly waitress Rachel. Scott’s you’re hot! Thank you Sue-JohnnyLondon

5 Stars, Visited March 2015

Best inland fish n chips around Love Scott’s, take away is nice, but the restaurant is a nice place to be very nicely presented and very friendly, spotlessly clean in a lovely village. David T

5 Stars, Visited March 2015

Lovely Food Lovely Staff We were tempted in for a fish n chip lunch after seeing what was on offer by two of the staff wandering the market place giving out taster samples! So glad we did – very good food at a reasonable price and served by friendly efficient young staff. Would definitely eat here again.d AlanandSally

5 Stars, Visited March 2015

Do not hesitate, go for one of the best fish & chips Can’t recommend it highly enough, will be back whenever we are in the area. The light and crispy batter will make you want more but gladly the portions are good Blindbodger

5 Stars, Visited March 2015

Nice lunch We had a very good fish and chips here. We had just been to the nearby Birds of Prey Centre at Duncombe Park and benefitted from the 20% off offer that Scotts are running if you come here afterwards, but we have enjoyed several meals here before without this added bonus. Service by Becca was very friendly and attentive. Will M

5 Stars, Visited March 2015

Great value for money. Surprised it took me so long to discover such an excellent eating spot. A warm welcome, comfortable seating, and absolutely first-class gluten-free fish (Haddock) and chips. Prompt, polite, and friendly service, thanks to Lewis and the lady who greeted me at the door. Highly recommended. DavidIanW

5 Stars, Visited February 2015

Fabulous fish and chips! Best fish and chips I have had for years! We called today on route back home from Scarborough and thought fish and chips for lunch was a good idea and we not disappointed! good service from Rebecca and Rachael, nothing was too much trouble for them and service with a smile, you don,t see that very often these days – both of them a credit to Scotts. The fish was excellent, fresh and very well cooked and although I’m on a diet could not resist the chips. well worth a visit. EJM1955

5 Stars, Visited February 2015

Best fish and chips in the area We were lucky enough to win a voucher in a raffle for fish n chips at Scott’s . It did not dissapoint, the service was excellent, lovely staff and very efficient. Would definately recommend it !! Both of us had the special and then a pudding treacle sponge & dime bar cake with cream all very yummy Will certainly go again…..DJ Lynne & Terry! DJLynne

5 Stars, Visited February 2015

Day out Called on way home from buying a motorhome , their were5of us, the service,fantastic ,great value for money, will we call again, yes will we tell others yes. The place is spotless Linda D

5 Stars, Visited February 2015

“Best fish and chips we’ve had in years!” We had a fabulous experience at Scotts of Helmsley just over a week ago. We had been delayed in Friday night traffic on the motorway, and had been recommended to go to Scotts on our arrival. We phoned ahead and found out we were due to arrive 15 mins after closing time, but the manager said without hesitation that he would stay open as we’d been recommended to go there. We had the best fish and chips – the fish was lovely and firm and the chips were piping hot and absolutely delicious. Lewis looked after us brilliantly – was very friendly and had even lit a candle on our table (it was the weekend of Valentine’s Day!). Thank you very much for your hospitality and delicious food – we can’t wait to return! Victoria K

5 Stars, Visited February 2015

“Splendid food and service” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 January 2015 NEW
There was six of us and all of us had a lovely meal!! The fish, chips and chicken were all delicious. The service was great and reasonably priced!! Well worth a visit.

“Fabulous Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 January 2015 NEW

Popped into Helmsley whilst visiting The Birds of Prey Center for a quick but filling lunch before the bird display. The fish and chips were super. Service was quick and efficient. We all left completely satisfied. Didn’t notice till after we had eaten that we could have got take out, we entered the premise from the main road, had we have used the other entrance then we probably would have noticed. However,we got a complete result on the price of the meal as we had already paid to enter the Birds of Prey we got a percentage off our meal!!!

“Gluten free in Helmsley” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 December 2014 NEW

Lovely to find a fish and chip shop that could provide gluten free fish and chips, without prior ordering, either to eat in or takeaway. On request there was also gluten free vinegar. I ate in their cafe and would have liked to see some gluten and dairy free dessert choices, otherwise a pleasant lunch out.

“Fish and chips excellence” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 December 2014

If you want your fish and chips served by Ed Sheeran look no further than Scott’s of Helmsley Lewis will serve you with all the best Yorkshire can offer good value, good food won’t even presume your age for the Golden years special and the advice for the ice cream choice was excellent no more vanilla for me! Well done Scott’s and well done Lewis!

“Food Review” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 December 2014

We had a lovely meal, the service by Lewis was friendly and entertaining. We had the ( can’t remember official name, which was lovely) oap special, presented very nicely, which was an absolute bargain. Food was delicious, would recommend going.

“Great chippy!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 December 2014

This is a restaurant and chippy, all served from the same kitchen. All the fish and the chips are fried in dripping, although they do have a separate vegetarian fryer, and for that matter can even manage gluten free! The fish is good – I especially like the haddock – thin and crispy batter is great too. If there is a downside it’s that you often have to queue for a while, and often the queue is not tourists but all us locals. That tells you something!

“Quality” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 November 2014

Total surprise mini Harrods great range and an aladin’s cave Good range of price points too Classy place

“Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 November 2014

You just have to go to Scotts, the best fish and chips! The cake selection too was enough to throw any diet out of the window!

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 November 2014

Yesterday we went on a walk over at Dalby Forest, and on our way back stopped off in Helmsley to pick up some fish and chips to eat back at the cottage we were staying in a few miles away. The visit was worth it, a nice sized portion, not too big and not too small and the fish in particular was lovely and tasty, and very white. The chips were a little dry but looked like they had been cooked for a while which is inevitable when it’s quiet. So, if you’re in the area, well worth a visit.

“Excellent fish and chips ” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 November 2014

Enjoyed delicious Fish and chips,very tasty. Fresh fish, light crunchy batter. Friendly staff, pleasant modern decor, large spacious seating area. Take away if you prefer. Highly recommended.

“The Best fish ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 October 2014

We called at Scotts due to our spa break in Helmsley. We had lunch there and had the lunch time special which at £9.95 was a bargain which included fish, chips and mushy peas with a barn and pot of tea. The decor was clean and fresh and the food was delicious. The fish was a perfect size for lunch. Anybody visiting Helmsley should make this restaurant a definite visit. See you soon!!!

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 October 2014

Very tasty fish & chips some of the best we’ve tried , The staff where so well trained & polite especially Becca who looked after us . 5 Star +

“Great fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 October 2014

first time here and well worth the wait,fish was lovely and chunky,lovely chips and homemade mushy peas,friendly staff and pleasant restaurant.would highly recomend this restaurant.

“Brilliant fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 October 2014

We took my mother-in-law there for fish & chips for her 91st birthday. We all loved it, brilliant, proper Yorkshire fish, chips, mushy peas & tea, freshly cooked, served by nice people.

“Superb Fish and Chips!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 October 2014

What a wonderful place. Staff super friendly, spotless clean and the most wonderful fish and chips I’ve had in a long time. Huge portions. Neither my husband and I could clear our plates. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. Will be sure to visit again. Will also try you restaurant on A64 which we spotted on our way home.

“deliciousness on a plate” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 September 2014

i only live twenty minutes away and shop in Helmsley often but this was the first time I visited this restaurant and I wasn’t disappointed, the fish, chips and mushy peas were delicious, the service was quick and friendly and the whole place spotless and clean and it was lovely to be asked by the waitress if everything was ok. will definitely be back!

“Proper Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 September 2014

I have travelled all over the world, and all around the British isles, I have tasted countless varieties of dishes, but I have to admit, that if you live in Helmsley and have never tried Scotts of Helmsley, or you are thinking of visiting this beautiful town of ours, then you must pay a visit to Scots of Helmsley for “Proper Fish & Chips” I won’t buy my fish & chips from anywhere else. The standard of their food is second to none, their staffs are so cheerful and welcoming, and the service level is complimented by the fantastic quality of their food.

“Takeaway” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 September 2014

At last had some more of your wonderful fish and chips ! albeit from the takeaway ! Absolutely great ..even though we ate them in the holiday cottage,we still ate them from the papers ,[with a proper fork and no seagulls pestering us!!] Hoping to visit your new venture on A64 too …

“Superb Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 September 2014

On a visit to Helmsley today and we decided to have lunch at Scotts, knew nothing about the place but it looked good and we were not disappointed, great service, friendly staff and the food was excellent. Price was reasonable and I would say that if you want quality then you have to pay a little more than your average chippy, I would say the fish and chips were some of the best I have ever tasted and will definitely visit again if in the area.

“Nice Plaice to eat!” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 September 2014

My boyfriend & I chose Scotts as there was a offer in a tourist booklet. We weren’t dissapointed. The town of Helmsley is lovely & the resturant easy to find. There is a good selection on the menu including Gluten Free options. We chose the cod & chips & within 5 minutes 2 lovely portions were on our table. Nice crispy batter, mushy peas & just enough to fill us up but not fit to burst! Service was good & we would go back again

“Lovely fish and chips and first class service” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 September 2014

Visited here in August 2014 while on holiday in Yorkshire. Great fish and chips and served very quickly. Extremely good value for money and very pleasant staff. Would definitely recommend and we will come back!

“Top class Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 September 2014

I was really impressed with Scotts Fish and Chips Restaurant, definatly one of the best fish and chips meals ive ever had. Clean and modern inside, staff are very attentive and helpful. The menu has the usual but also a few more interesting options which is nice. I had the Fish cake, which was amazing with the salmon, the batter was light and crispy, chips were perfect too. Everything was well presented and portions were perfect for us. I also sampled from others I was eating with (all very impressed) and everything from the Calamri to the battered Cod was delicious. Will definatly look forward to going back here.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 September 2014

Brilliant – gluten free fish and chips, the best i’ve had. We visit Helmsley quite often, but noticed the change of owners, and as they had also taken over Tritons on the A64 thought it would be worth asking if they also did gluten free. Normally we have coffee and cake at Helmsley, but our future visits will definitely be fish and chip day! Two very happy customers.

“Scott’s fish restaurant” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great gluten free fish & chips Melissa was our server she helped me with my gluten free diet she looked after us down to cleaning the table, she even got me to buy gluten free vinegar which I didn’t know I could get. What a great personality to go with it well done Melissa.

“Great fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 September 2014

Visited for the first time today. We looked at the menu initially and thought it was expensive, but this is a classic example of ‘you get what you pay for’. My wife and I both had cod which was excellent, freshly fried and was a really good size portion. I can put my food away and was totally full. Our daughter had the crispy fish bites from the children’s menu which consisted of 4 clearly home made fish gujons, chips and beans, followed by a mini milk lolly for £5. I often judge a place by the quality of the children’s menu food and this was certainly top quality. I will visit again and would definitely recommend Scott’s.

“Fish & Chips to perfection” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 September 2014

Visited on Sunday 31st August, 2014. 4 of us had a meal in the restaurant. All meals were presented and cooked well. Great service as well. Many Fish & Chip Shops that have a table service area for diners should take note of this shop, they will learn a lot on how to present and cook such a variety of fish/seafood dishes. Fishcakes were delicious and also the Calamari, not forgetting the Cod and lovely chips. Also an awarded place and no wonder it shows…

“Yummy ” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 August 2014

Called in for fish n chips, what a lovely place! Very modern decor, beautifully clean. Food was fresh, hot and tasty and the customer service was first class! Excellent eaterie!

“Great food. Great service.” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 August 2014

We live close to Helmsley and had just been visited by our son who lives in Scarborough, he said he fancied some decent fish and chips, which was interesting as I guess he is surrounded by them in Scarborough. We said we knew just the place and were not disappointed. Scotts was busy when we went in. It was Saturday night and a large function was in progress at Duncombe Park. Service was terrific despite having 2 tables of 14 to look after. The food was beautifully cooked and presented, our son had the jumbo fish and chips and said it was the best he had tasted for a long time. Our waitress was called Rachael, what a great girl she is, her attention and service was second to none and would not have been out of place in a 5star hotel. Overall a great meal, no wonder we visit regularly, highly recommended.

“Well done scotts” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 August 2014

Visited Helmsley, a pretty village with lots of home made food outlets. Scotts is a great fish restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating. The fish and chips were very good and with good portions and prices. Good sinage boards with a few specials and the tally for fish on a steam rail special day was 838 pieces, says it all, really.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 August 2014

The fish and chips are excellent well presented and very very tastie the service is quick and the place is very clean. We would visit again and recommend you try Scott’s if visiting or live in Helmsley. The price is very reasonable and the portion size is excellent.

“wonderful fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 August 2014

We enjoy our occasional trip to Helmsley from home about 15 miles away through the lovely Howardian hills today, feeling peckish, called in to Scott’s in the middle of town We had the option of takeaway or eating in & chose the latter. We were offered a senior citizens’ of fish & chips with bread & butter, pot of tea & icecream for £7.50. The service was excellent with little waiting. The quality of food was very good. Special mention to our waitress Becca who was efficient, most pleasant & chatty-well done. Would certainly recoomend this establishment as an alternative to some of the more up market & more expensive hotels in the town. Upstairs & downstairs would make access for all reasonably easy. They do sell alcohol if required & would take bookings for larger groups.

“Great fish and Chips, Great service” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was working in Helmsley while I was there i was recommended that we eat in Scotts if you like good fish and chips. At the end of the day, tired and hungry I decided to pop my head in. I chose the restaurant side and was very surprised that the surroundings were very elegant, in fact when we ventured upstairs we found we could see the castle which was nice. A young lady called Melissa cheerfully came by and took our order, and in a couple minutes we were enjoying a a lovely cuppa while we waited for our meal. The meal was freshly cooked, we both had Fish and chips. Often, when you get a craving for fish and chips, the reality of what you are given doesn’t anywhere near meet up to your expectations. Let me tell you here, my expectations were surpassed. The whole meal was really well presented, the fish was absolutely delicious (there must be a secret to the batter!!!) and the “proper” chips. Melissa and another lady called Steph cheerfully came buy and asked if we needed anything else. Just another brew was our reply. I was so impressed I wanted to speak to the chef/manager to compliment him on a delicious meal and great service. Shane the manager was really friendly too full of enthusiasm and passion for his work. I will definitely be visiting this place again when I am next in town. A big thank you to the locals for recommending

“Fish Chips and Mushy Peas at their finest” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hats off to this terrific little chippy.! Some of the best fish and chips we’ve ever tasted and probably the finest mushy peas you could ever eat! Accompanied by a bottomless, simply delicious, pot of tea. They even managed to provide as a special request a much preferred beautiful piece of cod without batter (although their own batter is fantastic and so crisp all the way through. We also noticed that for those people who do have a Gluten problem they can even offer a battered fish just for you. The service was a little slow due to the special order but boy, was it all worth waiting for! 10 out 10 to Scotts.

“great selection of food” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 August 2014

as above helpful staff outstanding sandwiches great choice of cheese.Good selection of gift items from local suppliers .

“Brilliant Restaurant and good food” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 July 2014

Delicious fish and chips not to be missed when visiting Helmsley… Food hot and fresh, great value for money.. Friendly welcome and service very good, even though we arrived just before closing time.. My husband left his glasses in your restaurant thank you Shane for posting them on to us.. They arrived the next day!! Thank you again ..

“Yummy yummy” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went on dayout trip found restaurant by chance had golde fish and chips delicious,only negative they get very busy and young Waiter forgot breadrolls.

“A very good “set up” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 July 2014

A very well laid out restaurant with a very good range of choices on the menu. I cannot get use to the idea of the comparatively early closing times which prevents using the facility for an “evening” meal.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped off for coffee and cake on 20/7/14 the sun was out and everything was perfect including the coffee and cake

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited Scotts take away last week and it was the best fish and chips I have every tasted – and believe me I’ve tasted a few! I love fish and chips but sometimes the grease doesn’t like me, there was no grease at all on these. We had a take away in a box and sat on a seat in the market place watching the world go by, when we finished eating there was no trace of grease in the bottom of the box at all, amazing! The young lady who served us was very friendly and efficient too. Certainly will and already have recommended to family and friends. We will be back!

Lots more great reviews on our Tripadvisor page


“Friday night treat” Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great food in the most elegantly decorated chippy I’ve ever been in, clearly just been done up. The food was great, the service lovely. We had a bottle of wine, as it was Friday night, which was a first for us with fish and chips. They really are the best fish and chips around…yum.

“Great fish and chips !” Reviewed 21 September 2013

Popped in yesterday lunchtime with my Mother. Huge portion of fish and chips , perfectly cooked and tasty ! What more do you want from a fish and chip shop !!!!!! Will be back soon. Great friendly service also.

“Gluten free fish restaurant” Reviewed 20 September 2013

Being gluten and wheat intolerant I have found it almost impossible to purchase my favourite fish and chips from a “proper chippy” and have had to resort to supermarket type pre-packed fish,Yeuk!! That is until I came upon Scotts of Helmsley. Oh boy! food to die for, crispiest batter, succulent white fish (no grey bits at all) no bones, no skin, no complaints. My wife who doesn’t have gluten problems had non-gluten fish and chips and she was also very impressed with the quality of her meal. When you couple the fish and chips with mushy peas, tartare sauce, a large pot of tea(Yorkshire tea of course!) fresh bread rolls and plenty of butter served by a smiling helpful waitress in pristine comfortable surroundings for under £20 what more can you want. My wife and I although we live about thirty miles distant will be regular visitors to Scotts of Helmsley.

“The haven revisited!” Reviewed 19 September 2013

Further to my previous review we visited Scott’s again a couple of weeks later. This time the weather was kinder to us and we arrived in good time so were able to dine in the restaurant! I’d like to point out that in my previous review I had said we’d met the owner – it was in fact the Chef Shane, so my apologies. It was flattering to be remembered and greeted by Shane and the girls, who remembered us! So as soon as we sat down and looked at the menu, our order was taken. We could then take in the surroundings. The decor is very modern and easy on the eye – spotlessly clean and well lit. Really nice feel-good atmosphere, hardly surprising it’s so popular..A word of warning (so to speak) – unless you have a big appetite or haven’t eaten for a week, I do recommend you go for the smaller fish portion.. Luckily we remembered this visit and it was just the right amount. Last time we couldn’t eat it all so we had to take the remainder away in the boxes they provided to feed to the birds! Waste not want not. In either case – getting to the point – the fish was succulent, white and so tasty.. The batter was crisp and golden – it complemented the fish nicely and certainly didn’t get lifted off and left!! The chips were perfectly cooked and chunky. Really enjoyable and faultless in our opinion. The whole atmosphere is so nice and friendly which bodes well we think. We left feeling pleasantly full – not leaden! We certainly will be going again. Unfortunately Trip Advisor sets a time period between reviews of the same place so I’ve had to adhere to that..

“More than a chip shop” Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely clean restaurant with more than a chip shop menu. We had two enjoyable meals during our stay nearby.

“Fish to go” Reviewed 16 September 2013

Sparkling clean premises without the usual greasy chippy smells, friendly attentive staff and fish and chips cooked just like your granny did them. A very pleasant and enjoyable take out meal.

“The Net” Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our snap decision not to book a nearby posher establishment was proved to be correct. At Scotts we had crayfish tails followed by cod and chips – and it was excellent. Scotts welcome and service were at least as good as we might have hoped for anywhere else, and this very stylish restaurant also appeared to be sparkling clean. No wonder Scotts was doing good trade on the night!

“Great Fish and Chips!” Reviewed 10 September 2013

We visited Scotts one lunchtime on a recent short break in Helmsley – the fish and chips were excellent – large portions and delicious batter. One of our party was a vegetarian and had the veggie burger which was apparently of similar high quality. Don’t miss this place if you are in Helmsley – it’s a must!

“Outstanding Fish & Chips” Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had the most wonderful fish & chips from Scotts of Helmsley. In fact, I regard myself as something of a connoisseur of perfectly cooked fish and chips and these were the best I’ve had in a long time. The fish was freshly caught, the batter perfect and they were cooked to perfection. The size portions are massive so you might choose to share. The best take-away meal I’ve had this year.

“Best fish and chips I’ve ever had.” Reviewed 3 March 2013

The best I’ve had and I’ve had a lot been a yorkshire lad. I Would recommend to anybody. I went with my family and the service was excellent, the people where friendly, and very reasonably priced.

“Lovely food reasonalble prices smiling service.” Reviewed 2 March 2013

Shopping in Helmsley we came across Scotts, we had a lovely lunch sitting outside enjoying the wintry sunshine. The food was lovely – the girl who served us was very smiling and efficent we will certainly visit again.

“Brilliant restaurant” Reviewed 5 January 2013

I think it was the nicest fish and chips ive ever had. The restaurant was bright, clean and the staff were so polite. If you don’t visit, you’ll never experience heaven .

“Service as it should be.” Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We visited Scotts 16th December.Lee had not long taken over.We came from the London area and commented on the style of service that you are given,because you dont get this in London anymore.He realy had time for you as did all of the staff.Nothing and i really mean nothing was too much trouble.The food is excellent.Forget Whitby for Fish and Chips,this is the place to come.The resturant has a modern and spacious feal.It is totally spotless.Very well priced aswell.Im visiting Yorkshire again in August and will without doubt be back to Scotts again

“excellent fish and chips” Reviewed 26 December 2012

Really great fish and chips! Friendly welcome and service from the minute we walked in the door. Highly recommend this place for a lovely eating experience

“Nice atmosphere, even nicer food” Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stopped here for some lunch while on a very quick trip to the area. There was a very friendly atmosphere and the staff were lovely. The food was delicious but the portions were extremely large, I only managed to finish half which was a shame because it was so tasty. Very nice place, I’m sure it will be packed in the summer months!