Helmsley 01439 772465 York 01904 700189

Here are the latest reviews of Scotts Fish and Chips on Tripadvisor:


Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 awarded to Scotts of Helmsley1Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 for Scotts of Helmsley

Amazing. World class!

Just eaten here and have to say wow! Dave and the team were fantastic, and the food was amazing. Can easily say the best fish and chips ever, and that’s saying something! We ate in the restaurant at 4:30pm and now have this as our favourite fish and chips spot!!! A++++++

We nearly used the takeaway side as that’s the door we entered through, but the friendly staff pointed out that the restaurant side was available too. Having been shown to a great table in the clean well presented restaurant we enjoyed a selection of fish items from the menu along with copious Yorkshire tea. We left thoroughly satisfied, and very happy with the value for money too. Definitely one to get back to .

M R

5 Stars, November 2015

Lovely meal

An alternative to a pub lunch. The food was of a very high standard and the staff tom and linda were excellent. Friendly and helpful with smiles on their faces. Will certainly be going again.

anthony m

5 Stars, November 2015

A smile costs nothing but says it all’!!!

From start to finish our experience was lovely , the food was amazing and the three young gentlemen were smiling and had polite conversation throughout our visit. Not somewhere you would think to go on the way home from York outlet but a lot better than having to wait for a seat in a resturant there!!!

lizzie19750

5 Stars, November 2015

Fantastic food! Family enjoyment.

Absolutely recommend.

We love holiday Fish & Chips and therefore have experienced many through the country. Scotts comes out top. Excellent food. I was concerned as I need milk free food for my little boy. Allergies are catered for! Enjoyed a thoroughly fantastic meal. Excellent service and staff.

Mummsey C

5 Stars, November 2015

An unexpected GEM

We pulled off the main road to use the services even though I’m not a fan of most services and spotted this Fish & Chip restaurant at the far side. Having almost used the fast food franchise on the same site I’m glad we spotted this business and avoided the McD!

We nearly used the takeaway side as that’s the door we entered through, but the friendly staff pointed out that the restaurant side was available too. Having been shown to a great table in the clean well presented restaurant we enjoyed a selection of fish items from the menu along with copious Yorkshire tea. We left thoroughly satisfied, and very happy with the value for money too. Definitely one to get back to .

Duggy J

5 Stars, November 2015

Great Food, Great Service

We, grand parents, an adult son and his two girls aged 13 & 8, were staying two nights at the Premier Inn at the same service centre where this eatery is located.

We were not aware that this was a restaurant, but initially thought it was just a take away, so we missed out on going here the first night, which was a shame as when we did go we found it was just amazing.

In one of the brochures we had picked up in York there were vouchers for two meals for the price of one which made it extremely reasonable. We showed the reception lady the vouchers when we first arrived and even so at no time during the evening did we feel that we were getting less attention, either in service or in the quality of the food provided.

Initially we waited briefly while a table was cleared, cleaned down and reset for us. The menus were handed out promptly and with drinks in hand we were left for a while to decide what we would eat. I had chicken strips done in bread crumbs (there was a huge number of strips), very tender, with chips and salad. My husband chose steak pie, new potatoes, peas and gravy which he was overjoyed with – the best pie meal he’d had in the UK. All this cost only 15 GBP.

We had intended to have a dessert as well but sadly did not have the capacity. The menu was extensive and as you can see was not just fish meals. Our son did have a fish meal, it was large and lovely; he has a great appetite but also could not face dessert. I would suggest that they need to somehow make themselves more visible to the public so that people are aware they are there.

Sherril E

5 Stars, October 2015

Lovely Service and delicious food

Popped by this chip shop when visiting the area. The girl serving was really welcoming and friendly and the food was great. Perfect portion size and not greasy at all. Will come back for sure!

davehall88

5 Stars, October 2015

Wow, great fish and chips

My wife and I and our 7 yr old son stopped off here whilst looking for something to eat whilst staying nearby. What a great find. Fish and chips cooked fresh. My wife and I had Haddock and chips whilst our son had cod bites and chips. He loved his cod bites and all three of us enjoyed the food whilst sitting outside in the evening sun. Give McDonalds next door a rest and try these great fish and chips.

Recommended

J0ckabr0ad

5 Stars, October 2015

A revelation!

Coming back from the coast & wanted a cup of tea; went into the restaurant looked at the menu and wow! A whole bunch of “Gluten Free” options, so a delight for those like my wife with Coeliacs disease. We ended up having with a full meal. Tom & Dave were really cheerful and couldn’t have been more helpful; such a change from the usual attitude of staff in these roadside cafe’s.
The food was excellent – simple but well cooked and served hot on warm plates.
Worth a visit even if you are not just passing. Better than the McDonalds next door.

JohnPShipley

5 Stars, October 2015

Great local chippy!

We just moved to Bilbrough and decided to go here after spending the entire day shifting boxes. Really friendly service and the food was great. Can’t ask for anything more!

Dan A

5 Stars, October 2015

So glad we stopped here

Stopped here on our way back from holidaying the last week of August. We were travelling with two young children and having car problems so in a terrible mood.

We sat down and were made very welcome which instantly lifted our moods. The staff were very attentive the food was excellent.

The external decor gave me doubt about going in but the internal decor is totally different and very relaxing, I really liked the magazines on offer for customers to read while waiting for food.

I’d highly recommend visiting Scotts and if we are ever in the area again we definitely will.

1Bubbles32

5 Stars, September 2015

Faultless!

We have passed by many times but never stopped, but today we decided to give them a try and we were very pleased we did. The food and the service was excellent and we will certainly call again.

Thanks to all involved!

janseabie

5 Stars, September 2015

Wedding day made more special by Scotts attention to detail.

We had our wedding breakfast at Scotts. The staff were excellent, attending to our guests every need. The food was brilliant and the tables were dressed with tablecloths, flowers etc.

Their attention to detail made our wedding day so special. Thank you guys

Vicky K

5 Stars, September 2015

A lovely spot

We recently stayed at the Premiere Inn right next to Scott’s Fish and Chips and decided to pop in for dinner after being at Flamingo Land for the day.

We went into the takeaway side first and were preparing to sit down at the metal tables when my daughter asked to use the loo. We went through some doors into a massive restaurant. What a surprise! I absolutely loved the decor! It was so fresh and sea themed but not at all cheesy. The colour scheme was lovely and really helped the relaxing atmosphere.

We got a table and ordered our meal and drinks, asked for crayons for the children and waited for our food to arrive.

I ordered scampi and chips, my husband had fish and chips and the children both had fish fingers. All of the food was freshly cooked, tasty and the plates looked good when they arrived.

The dinning area and toilets were immaculate.

We had a very nice family meal here and would recommend to locals and visitors alike. If we ever find ourselves in that neck of the wood again we’ll be going back for sure.

Kdlovescake

5 Stars, September 2015

Excellent for gluten free

I only live up the road from Scotts but hadn’t been because it just looks like a motorway service station (which it is next to). However they advertise gluten free fish and chips which are still a bit of a rarity so we went on a whim last night. Not only did they have gluten free batter, but there was bread, vinegar and tartare sauce. I didn’t enquire about curry sauce – will do so next time. When it came the portion was enormous, the batter light and crispy and the fish fresh and moist. I really enjoyed it. Somehow I managed to ram in pudding – what was clearly a home made pavlova (gluten free – the waiter advised without prompting of their selection). My other half had the chocolate fudge cake – he didn’t need the gluten free aspect but apparently it was, good knowledge for next time as it looked amazing.

Service was good, it was quiet inside (wet Thursday night in early September, not surprising). We’ll be going again.

amuk2015

5 Stars, September 2015

Fresh, tasty & plenty of choice Visited Scotts a few times recently and couldn’t fault the food on any occasion. Consistently good quality, well-cooked, fresh and tasty. Good menu with plenty on offer besides fish and chips. An excellent choice all round. Spacious restaurant, light and clean with attractive modern ‘seafaring’ décor. Plenty of parking. casperWestYorks

5 Stars, August 2015

A good all round meal We found the restaurant to have good parking, friendly staff and a good choice of food, which caters for most tastes. Very clean and the service quick and helpful. It has a light airy atmosphere. Roger H

5 Stars, August 2015

Great Venue hidden just of the A64 outside York We visited with a group with our car club. We were greeted by a friendly professional manager. Our orders were taken and in a very short space of time the food started to be served. The food was excellent and freshly cooked (to order). The meals were cooked to perfection. The have different sizes of fish and a wide choice of fish to suit everyone’s taste. The puddings are homemade and worth a taste – if you have room! David S

5 Stars, August 2015

Amazing service! My daughter has a severe dairy allergy, and doesn’t eat meat, so upon arriving at 9pm just before closing, I didn’t think we would be successful in getting any chips to eat. However, the staff said despite cooking in beef oil, they would get another fryer back out that they had just washed to cook some specially for her in sunflower oil, after going through all of the books to see what allergens were in the oil. They were incredibly accommodating, the portion was very generous and at such a good price! I can’t praise the staff and their amazing customer service more! Would definitely recommend them and their restaurant!! Laura K

5 Stars, August 2015

Proper Fish and chips! We called at Scott’s on the way back from a trip to the coast. We were going to stop in a nearby village, however they were shut (we’re glad they were!) We noticed an advert on the A64 for Scott’s, so we thought we’d give it a go. There is a full restaurant and a small takeaway part. The takeaway part has a few tables also for you to sit and dine at. Having an 18 month old who needs entertaining, we opted for the takeaway area. We were served by a very friendly girl who seemed enthusiastic about our job and made various suggestions and recommendations. The fish prices were average, and took 5 mins or so to be cooked. (Cooked fresh). The size of the fish were impressive and very tasty – arguably the best I have tasted recently. The chips were fluffy with a crisp coating. The little one had the children’s meal which we thought at £3 was very reasonably priced. (She ate the lot too!) Overall an excellent experience. I would definitely recommend and hopefully revisit soon. RojV

5 Stars, August 2015

Treat after long walk We have eaten several times in Scott’s following long walks in North Yorkshire. Staff are always warm and welcoming and food is great. Its not just fish and chips, there are a variety of things to choose from and the ice cream is gorgeous. We eat from the Golden Years menu and are always delighted with our chosen meals. £9 for main meal and £1 for your pudding – how great is that?? We will no doubt be back again soon. Carol W

5 Stars, July 2015

Outstanding venue, excellent staff and amazing food… couldn’t have asked for any more for a special family occasion We have been regular visitors to Scott’s and when my Father sadly passed away, there was no other place that we wanted the ‘wake’ to be held. Kerry, the Manager was fantastic and nothing was too much effort. The staff team catered for everyone’s every need and we all had a beautiful fish and chip supper to give my dad the send off he deserved. The quality of food was outstanding and Kerry and the team make a difficult day much easier by being so friendly and helpful. Please do not hesitate in going to Scott’s…you will not be disappointed. A huge thank you to Kerry and the whole team. simondclare

5 Stars, July 2015

Modern, fresh and tasty! Very welcoming staff, modern interior and delicious menu to choose from. Love this fish and chips restaurant! 0EJay

5 Stars, July 2015

Excellent Fish n Chips Called on way back from York on Wednesday with family. Spotless, airy and relaxing with delicious fish n chips all fresh with great personal service and attention to detail. Mum was taken I’ll after a long day and the staff were superb thank you. I only wish we lived closer and could go more often. Recommend. Julie W

5 Stars, July 2015

Excellent food and service Welcomed with a warm smile by Ellie who looked after our table she was friendly and efficient. The food was served up quickly and was as of great quality in fact the cod was the best I have ever tasted. Well done to all at Scotts. Andrew T

5 Stars, July 2015

AMAZING Just had the best Fish and Chips I’ve ever tasted !! Just passing by and called in lovely atmosphere very busy and the service was fantastic !! A special mention to the waitress Abbie who couldn’t of been any better very professional and efficient !! Keep up the good work ! Nick C

5 Stars, June 2015

Excellent as usual We called in for an evening meal after a busy day in York. This is the first time that we have visited since ownership changed hands. We were not disappointed. The staff were attentive and polite. We placed our order and received prompt service. The food was top notch. We will be back. David S

5 Stars, June 2015

Excellent Fish and Chips This was our first visit to Scotts. The staff very polite and the Fish and Chips are excellent all fresh, would recommend. APAP1234

5 Stars, June 2015

Nuts if you do not visit here you lot Superb food great service my 23rd visit and in this temple to Fish n Chips it’s rules with consistency Tom29bobby

5 Stars, June 2015

worth a vist fish really fresh and crispy. staff very friendly restaurant very clean and comfortable good value for money. jacqueline g

5 Stars, June 2015

Take out review Recently visited here as a takeaway option. Portion sizes are really decent & the small portions feed 2 children. The batter was crispy & the chips delicious also. Would definitely return yorkshirelassi

4 Stars, May 2015

Great staff! First of all I don’t think you could fault the staff in this restaurant! We had a really nice welcome and was seated straight away. The server was really nice and asked us on numerous occasions if everything was ok, again when we went to pay we was asked again which I think shows excellent customer service. Both me and my husband had fish and chips and I must admit when it came I didn’t think it looked like there was much on the plate. However, there was more than enough by the time I had finished my meal I couldn’t even manage a dessert, neither could my hubby. The meal was really enjoyable, I did find my fish to be a bit greasy but nothing to complain about. Overall a really nice place for fish and chips. Dixonyork

4 Stars, May 2015

lovely food and great service We ate here as we were staying at the nearby Travelodge and kept driving past, it made a nice change to the usual fast food chains. The fish was lovely and even the regular portion was more than enough for me (lots of chips!), my children had the kids scampi and the kids fish and chips – the long strips of battered fish were huge and they shared them as the scampi portion was much smaller, I’d highly recommend the kids fish, they wolfed it down. The service was lovely and helpful, the waitresses brought pictures (and crayons) for the kids to colour in, and the interior was clean and comfortable. All in all a pleasant surprise! eloiseb2208

4 Stars, May 2015

Regular Visitor We visit Scott’s regularly as we live nearby. All food is cooked fresh to order and Julie the waitress is really helpful & friendly. Well worth a visit L7239IGlauras

4 Stars, May 2015

Not Just Fish and Chips Don’t let fish and chips fool you, there is a lot more on offer! The restaurant area is a lovely place to sit and eat with friendly staff and a good selection of food on the menu. There’s activity packs to keep the little ones entertained and overall first class service PT905

5 Stars, May 2015

Top food and service We visited for the first time last night and were impressed as soon as we walked through the door. All staff polite and courteous, fantastic food. Good customer provided by Tyler. We will return and recommend. JWillz

5 Stars, April 2015

Top class!! Classy restaurant, brilliant food and a great character about the place! Definitely make sure you check it out. James M

5 Stars, April 2015

very good all round gluten free fish batter witch to my surprise was very good we were served by JULIE very good service all round Mick R

5 Stars, April 2015

Awesome fish and chips Desperately in need of some “fast” food, we saw Scotts at the side of the A64. The previous evening we had eaten Fish and Chips in Scarborough and were ready for some more! These were cooked freshly in the take out section and were piping hot. The chips were truly amazing – so light. In fact some of the best I’ve ever had…which is saying something. The fish was very very good too. Would definitely visit again. DVETheK

5 Stars, April 2015

TIP TOP IN UK Great product especially the takeaway very very good quality these people know what they are doing and they understand there produce. They seem to have continuous builders in but forget that this is the plaice to be ! Tom29bobby

5 Stars, April 2015

yum yum, happy tum. warm, friendly welcome, easy parking, spotlessly clean. good menu choices, great food. excellent staff, especially maisie. have been before, and will come again. robobear

5 Stars, March 2015

Had several take aways – all great. Highly recommended. Always stopped here for take-aways (rather than eat in their restaurant), The Take-away shop area has tables and chairs to eat in (as well as the restaurant part)… some outside for sunny weather! Prices are reasonable (5oz Cod, chips and peas £5, Fish butty £3.20 – prices as at date of posting 21st March 2015). Generous portions, great quality, highly recommend. Ken D

5 Stars, March 2015

Not greasy….perfect We stopped off on our journey home. Food was lovely. Perfect really! Not greasy at all and I’m really fussy about my fish and chips!!! Would highly recommend!! Nicola D

5 Stars, March 2015

Excellent meal We were really looking forward to fish and chips but Thompsons was packed. Decided to give Scotts a try and are really pleased we did. Nicely redecorated restaurant and excellent fish and chips. Good service and will now use as our first choice stop off and recommend others to give them a try instead of the other usual places. Martyn N

5 Stars, March 2015

thanks again for a lovely meal and a good dining experience. Tyler did us proud as usual serving us with a big smile and plenty of friendly chat. The manager also came across to say hello and we were introduced to the new supervisor. All in all a good experience thanks .Liz and Ken

Kenneth S

5 Stars, Reviewed 28 February 2015

Visited purely by chance on the way to York as didn’t want to stop at “usual suspect” services at previous exit. Was worth the slightly round about trip across the motorway as it was on other side to which we were travelling. Had the steak pie which was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend to anyone and will use again next time I’m passing.

Stephen H

5 Stars, Reviewed 27 February 2015

Driven past this restaurant at the side of the A64 between York and Leeds many, many times and never been in. Nearly didn’t bother – as you drive in past the motel and McDonalds I wondered if I was heading for “motorway service station food”. Could not have been more wrong. The restaurant was being decorated and should look great when finished. The staff were very friendly and efficient. However the main point of the visit, the food was exceptional. A huge pot of tea. A generous portion of Haddock & Chips, peas, tartar sauce, bread and butter. The fish was as good as you will find anywhere. Total cost including tea £11 each. Left happy and very full. Will definitely be back.

Stephen R

5 Stars, Reviewed 27 February 2015

Another lovely meal at Scotts, lots of decorating work going on but the food and service still excellent, the 2 of us had the steak pie and lasagne , no room for dessert this time, we will be back again another day for afternoon tea, well done to the staff, all very cheerful and friendly,

webbyeil

5 Stars, Reviewed 27 February 2015

Excellent Meal & Service My Wife and I took my elderly Mother here for lunch last Saturday, we were served by Jake & Maisie who were both very helpful, friendly & attentive, the Fish & Chips were simply delicious, we would highly recommend this Restaurant to anyone in the area or indeed passing by. Glenn_Ali1

5 Stars, Reviewed 23 February 2015

“Best fish I have had in a long time” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 January 2015 NEW
Decided to call in whilst staying at the nearby Travelodge as the options of Little Chef and Big Mac didn’t appeal. Tyler and the staff were wonderful hosts and it became apparent that many guests were regular visitors. So what about the important bit, the food? I settled for the large haddock which the plate struggled to contain. Very firm with a non greasy batter which most restaurants fail to achieve. Probably the best fish meal I have had in a long while and if this is the norm I’ll be back next time I’m in town.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 January 2015 NEW

Fantastic service: Fantastic food! My sister and I decided to pull over to the restaurant and were both slightly dubious about eating in what we considered ‘a roadside cafe’ but how wrong we were! The restaurant was lovely, the staff were friendly, chatty and helpful and the food was amazing. If I lived nearer (and it’s probably a good thing that I don’t), I would be there every weekend! Highly recommended!

“Not 100% happy but will try again” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 January 2015 NEW

Popped in on the way back from York the other day as i heard that first of all the old Tritons had been taken over. I visited Tritons once but never again. Truly awful food. Anyway, i was pleased to hear that Scotts had taken over and also that they offered gluten free food in the takeaway which to someone like me recently diagnosed it was a lucky find as i often make the journey down the A64. The service was impeccable and the lad behind the counter was very talkative and friendly. The price of the fish and chips also was very reasonable, it was the same price as ‘normal’ fish and chips which did surprise me as often there is usually a premium to pay for the ‘extra hassle’ of cooking gluten free food. Top marks on that score. The fish was beautiful but the chips were not cooked and not crispy at all. It felt like i had half a meal as most of the chips weren’t really cooked through. If it was a question of time i was quite happy to wait a little longer to ensure they were cooked properly. I will visit again very soon but if the chips remain hard, semi cooked and stodgy then i’ll probably not bother again as i won’t enjoy them. I think overall this place has a hell of lot going for it and i really appreciate what they are trying to do for gluten intolerance sufferers but at the end of the day, if the food is not tasty then i’ll take sandwiches out with me and save the money. Hoping for great tasting chips on my next visit.

“Great food and wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 January 2015 NEW

EWe were greeted by a very friendly member of staff called Tyler, he was very smiley and pleasant and seemed to enjoy working there. Maisie was our waitress, she was extremely happy and pleasant and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely visit the restaurant again. The food was fantastic so a huge thank you to the chef Jay who deserves a mention because the food was spot on. Thank you for a great experience.

“two really nice members of staff” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 January 2015

we visited tonight and found the food really good and it was very promptly served by a wonderful waitress called Maisie. She was extremely friendly and welcoming with a big smile. Then there was Tyler who was really pleasant and helpful. Between them they made our visit a very happy visit and I believe these two young people are an asset to the restaurant. I had the butterfly prawns and my partner had the giant haddock and we really enjoyed it. I can only say this was a good excuse not to cook and we shall certainly visit again

“Very well looked after” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 25 January 2015 NEW

We called to the restraunt as we were staying at the premier inn close by, we went on the 23/01/2015. We got a very friendly welcome, we was a party of seven and were very impressed by the food and the service of all the staff. Tyler was our waiter and nothing was too much trouble, providing brilliant customer service. Two of our party were over sixty and the deal the restaurant has is very good value. Thanks once again, I would recommend and will return if we revisit the area.

“Great Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 January 2015 NEW

Two of our Party of Five were gluten free, they were set at ease by our lovely waitress Julie who reassured that Gluten free was no problem The food came quick, hot in large portions and excellent quality.

“not only fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 January 2015 NEW

A cold winter night lets not cook we went down the road This restaurant has just changed hand. Very good choice of menu we had homemade meat pie The staff are helpful and friendly. Good for family’s or adults and good value great sweets lots of parking. They have a take away too.

“Great Fish & Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 January 2015 NEW

A warm welcome greeted us when we stepped inside “Scotts Fish & Chip” restaurant on a cold snowy evening. Both the food and service were excellent with huge portions. I had the plaice, chips and pea’s, and my partner had the haddock, both of which came with bread and butter. We will certainly be returning again when in these neck of the woods.

“Very good take-out fish & chips ” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 January 2015 NEW

First time here since the new owners took over, and quality doesn’t seem to have suffered. Popped in for a quick takeaway, and although ‘quick’ wasn’t quite nailed (fish cooked fresh to order, so a bit of a wait) the quality was high. Bit pricier than your average local chippy but despite that I shall be returning.

“Delicious food, fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 January 2015 NEW

There was a voucher in my local paper for a 2-4-1 deal at this restaurant so we thought we would give it a try. Phoned up first to find if it is wheelchair accessible which it is. The only waitress, Linda was extremely helpful finding us a table with plenty of space for the wheelchair. Mike had fish, chips and peas with bread and butter. He said the batter was lovely, light and crisp and a very big fish fillet which he could only just finish. I had butterfly giant prawns with new potatoes, sweet chili sauce, salad, garden peas and tartare sauce. There was so much I did not manage to finish it all. My only niggle was there was too much raw onion in the salad. We will definitely be going back there is the near future. Many thanks to Linda whose service was exemplary – kind , friendly and helpful.

“Great Meal!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 January 2015 NEW

We had a nice meal out at Scotts Fish and Chip restaurant just outside York. We used a voucher from the Press, 2 for 1 offer. We both had regular fish, chips and peas. Bread and butter included. Lovely light batter but crispy, thick, white Haddock, really nice. Friendly staff, special mention to Tyler and Maisie. Would recommend a visit, nice food in nice surroundings.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 January 2015 NEW

Called at Scotts on the way back from York. Lovely fish and chips. Tea for two….got three cups each! Very clean surroundings. Pleasant staff, Jake and Maisie. Popular with families, couples and elderlies. Shame I couldn’t connect to the free wifi. Will be going back there on our next visit to York definitely.

“Great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 January 2015 NEW

Very clean and welcoming. Had a lovely meal served to me by very attentive staff – Tyler and Masey. Will definitely call again. Thanks

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 January 2015 NEW

Lovely gluten free fish and chips, yummy soup and sweet. Very friendly service. Great value. Really good to find a restaurant that are so understanding and cater for gluten intolerance.

“superb fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 January 2015 NEW

Second visit and excellent food and service Julie made us very welcome. Large restaurant with very easy wheelchair access for our son.

“Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2015 NEW

Called in on a Saturday afternoon for fish and chips, huge portion and really really tasty. Would definitely go again. Staff very polite and friendly.

“Top notch fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January 2015 NEW

Arrived near closing but still had the very best fish & chips available anywhere. Made to feel welcome by Julie & Tyler who were attentive but didn’t rush us at all. A positively cheery experience and the large haddock is very large 😉

“exallent” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January 2015 NEW

Love this place,visit once a month,love the fish,always good.they do more than fish and chip,s, the rest of the menu is great.love their sweet,s,trifel to die for.. staff really happy friendly people,in a good way..Tyler was our server today and was happy to chat and give us a run down on were the fish come,s from and general chit chat.a big fat 10 …..

“just gets better” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 January 2015 NEW

We have regular trips to scotts, and this sunday had another lovely treat, what a supprise the very large and very tasty home made fish cake you have to be hungry for this one,

“Top nosh! ” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 January 2015 NEW

Wasn’t expecting much as I’d really just popped in to nab a bit of power and wifi but was well impressed. My mates always telling me we don’t do decent fish and chips on the wrong side of the Pennines in Manchester and I was forced to agree with him after eating here. The cod was amazing and batter light and crispy , I even got food envy when someone opposite ordered something that looked like Dolphin on toast. Tyler who served me couldn’t have helped out more. Very good, I’ll be diverting my journeys past here now!

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 January 2015 NEW

Went on Friday afternoon to take advantage of a special offer coupon and was amazed at the quality and quantity of the fish and chips. Lovely crispy batter on tender, perfectly cooked fish with (too many for us) perfect chips and a portion of mushy peas. A pot of tea and bread and butter completed a gorgeous late afternoon meal. The service was friendly and efficient from the young man who said he lived locally. If you’ve not been yet give it a try – you’ll be glad you did. We will definitely go again and gladly pay full price for an excellent meal.

“Second visit – just excellent ” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 January 2015 NEW

We have been to this restaurant twice on the way back from Filey. The staff (especially the two gents working Saturday evening) are a credit to the place and the food (fish goujons for me and Cumberland sausage for my husband) was absolutely wonderful. Staff friendly, Pleasent surroundings, great service, plenty of parking. We will certainly be returning.

“Excellent fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 January 2015 NEW

This was our second visit and everything was as good as the first time. Good quality cod with excellent batter, which stayed crispy to the end and not a hint of oil or grease. Chips were as good as they get in this type of restaurant. In general better quality cooking than the Wetherby Whaler. Service was prompt and courteous. Will certainly go again.

“Good one” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 January 2015 NEW

Went there yesterday on my way to Leeds from York. We just stopped for something quick to eat and it turned up to be a very nice restaurant. Service was really good and the fish and chips was awesome. If on route, we will stop again

“Spot On!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 January 2015 NEW

As regular visitors to the previous Tritons, we have followed the trials and tribulations of the new owners who have renamed the restaurant Scotts. I have found it hard to understand some of the comments left on Tripadvisor but have sympathised with other comments. At times we have felt that another local venue offered better value for money. This has been far from the case on our last two visits. As some would say everything was ‘spot on’. On our first visit, with friends visiting the restaurant for the first time, we all had cod. We were all given a thick piece of creamy, flaky fish with plenty of chips and more than enough peas. Our friends were impressed and said they would return. On our second visit we reverted to our usual ‘Golden Years’ option. We were allowed cod instead of haddock and had an excellent meal. Portion size was good with the food filling the plate, something which hasn’t always happened recently. The fish was again very nice and perfectly adequate in size for our appetites. We both had a ‘Senior’ desert; Christmas pudding with custard and jam sponge with custard. Both deserts were lovely, tasty and nicely presented. The portion of Christmas pudding was just right and the jam sponge was substantial. We both felt full at the end of the meal and at £8.95 which included tea or coffee, was very good value. If Scotts can repeat this all of the time they will see their ‘regulars’ who have tried pastures new returning and have more returnees from new customers.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 December 2014

Excellent staff, everything very clean and tidy, but the portions not as big as a competitor’s. However, the menu choices for pensioners are more extensive.

“Good place to eat.” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 December 2014

Was on way home from york and thought would try scotts restaurant very clean and tidy, staff friendly and they cater for gluten free. Was very nice, we had a starter and main course. Which enjoyed but after that was to full to have desert. Was not bad prices either.

“Amazing gluten free fish and chips!!!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 November 2014

We visited Scott’s fish and chip restaurant today after googling gluten free restaurants in York and we are so glad we found it!! I had the gluten free fish and chips with mushy peas and gluten free bread and it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not coeliac had the normal fish and chips and he said they were excellent too. The fish was so fresh and the service was brilliant. We will definitely be making lots more trips over to Scott’s in the future and would recommend it to everyone 🙂

“First visit since Scott’s took over & still very good!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 November 2014

A few fish and chip restaurants on A64 between Leeds and Scarborough, I have been to them all! This is my favorite although food quality is similar at them all, this one wins hands down for cleanliness and staff friendliness. It’s also really easy to get to when going either East or West on A64!

“Best fish and chips for miles around” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 November 2014

Called in for lunch yesterday, both of us had the plaice which was really good, The batter was not too heavy and the fish very tasty. Not 5 stars simply because of the slowish service, not the fault of the lady serving but she apologised as she was on her own and it was reasonably busy. Top Tip. If you have a Triton’s loyalty card, keep it as it will be honoured. Some weeks ago, I chucked mine away when I saw the restaurant had changed hands so lost my 7 stamps! In addition, I forgot to start a new card when we left as there was a problem with the till which took some minutes to sort out. Will certainly call again.

“Tritons now Scotts” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 November 2014

Called here not expecting too much as its at the services off the A64 by McDonalds.Only one other table occupied so this reinforced my thoughts of dread. How wrong I was the fish and chips were excellent. Prices were fair as well considering the location. It seems to be changing name from Tritons to Scotts or possibly the other way round. Pay them a visit you wont be dissapointed.

“Superb fish and chips!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 October 2014

Our first visit today on the back from a visit to York – confused about the Scotts / Tritons but reading other reviews now understand the change of ownership. Very strange to drive into the car park from the main road, and I have to say that between the poor signage, old and worn road markings and vehicles parked on both sides of the access roads, I almost gave up trying to get into the car park… But very glad I persevered! Food was reasonably priced, the restaurant was bright and clean, and the food was excellent. What added to the visit for my wife was the fact that they served fish in a gluten free batter, and provided gluten free bread and butter as a standard offer, neither of which are commonplace, and something that would have certainly have caused us to plan our visit had we known. We were too full for dessert, but the ones we saw coming from the kitchen looked great too. Would definitely recommend Scotts (Tritons) to all!

“A lovely cafe on the A64 disguised as a fish and chip shop!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 October 2014

This used to be a fish and chip cafe but has been greatly refurbished recently and the menu changed. There really were NO decent eating places on the A64 – the others are all fast food and grease – but this is lovely. A good choice of menu and I had the prawn salad which was excellent – plenty of prawns and very fresh salad. Friendly staff too. I’ve been there twice now since the refurbishment and will certainly go there again. The only drawback is that all the signs say FISH AND CHIPS and I’m sure this will put off many people who would prefer other things. I love fish and chips – – but not all the time! With a change of name and signs I think this cafe could get a tremendous amount of passing trade – much more than it gets at the moment.

“Scotts of Helmsley on A64” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 September 2014

Having tasted the wonderful Scotts of Helmsley fish and chips ,were really pleased when we saw their sign on A64 ,at Bilborough services !! Bit of a winding road to get in ,with parked cars and lorries on the approach road being a bit of a hazard !..blaming Macdonalds for that !! A good size car park ,plenty of spaces ,but being a Monday ,not many people were in at 4 pm.They have long opening hours ..upto 8-9 pm and a takeaway too Lovely modern ,bright restaurant ,well set out and a lovely greeting from the foh staff .Great choice of menu ,other things to fish and chips and a specials board too.Excellent service with freshly cooked fish and chips,great portion size,!! so much so we had no room for dessert . Loved the everything about it and would call again ,going east or west !! Would be nice for Trip Advisor to allow a change of name as it isn’t Tritons anymore

“fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 September 2014

we were staying at the premier inn near this resturant and we didnt want to go into town for a meal so we thought well we would just have fish and chips from here but they do so much more than just chips we had a lovely meal i had the fish and nigel had the home made steak pie it all came lovely and hot and tasted really good, and not a bad price either. the staff were freindly and cheerfull.

“Excellent choice for stop over lunch” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 September 2014

Had a plate of fantastic haddock and chips here on our way back home after visiting the university of York’s open day. Mc Donald’s next door would come a very sorry second to this place! So glad we chose to eat here – can thoroughly recommend. Everything cooked fresh to order and all washed down with lashings of tasty Yorkshire tea – YUM!!

“Chris Miller” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 September 2014

Definitely a little hidden gem. The soup is absolutely fantastic. The staff are very friendly and the whole place is spotlessly clean

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 September 2014

A hidden gem. Excellent food which was affordable in a family friendly environment with friendly staff

“Chunky Cod!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had seen the sign on the A64 for a new fish and chip place a few times but opted for a Macdonalds every time. Went into Scotts and it was delicious! Home cooked fish which was thick and moist. Not seen fish that chunky in years. The batter was great and the chips were nice too. I will definitely call again during my travels.

“another very enjoyable lunch” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have been regular visitors to Scotts ( was tritons) over the last year, today was another excellent meal, one meal was salmon and salad and my friend had the regular fish with chips and peas, they were very busy but we were served very quickly and efficiently, we find all the girls very friendly and efficient, too full up…

“Good take away service” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 August 2014

We live close to this Fish and Chip shop so visit regular. The fish and chips are always lovely. Not too greasy. There is sometimes a little wait, but they cook fresh to order which you cant really moan about. Portion size is always good. We ate in once and food was great, but the service was slow.

“Changed hands and better quality” 3 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 August 2014

This has changed hands (20th August 2014) since last time I was here a few months ago and is now called “Scott’s”. The waitresses told us it has been purchased by people who own another restaurant so there will be changed but currently everything inside is still branded as Tritons. The menu was also the same BUT we found the quality improved and it was ok before. The portions seemed smaller but the fish was definitely better- again the waitresses said the fish is now coming from icelandic fishing grounds and it was previously coming in from Russia as it was cheaper. All in all, we will be visiting again and we rather expect further improvements are in the pipeline.

“STILL EXCELLANT” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 August 2014

We returned aging to this restaurant and once again enjoyed an excellent freshly cooked Fish and Chip meal served by friendly professional staff. Great atmosphere and spotlessly clean.

“fish and chip gem” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 August 2014

On our way back home from visiting flamingo land we were looking for a bite to eat and I remember seeing fish and chip restaurant on our way to flamingo land on a64 York road called SCOTTS FISH AND CHIPS (New name) was going to get takeaway but went inside and was pleasantly surprised very modern and clean inside,toilets very clean must have cleaned them twice on our visit food excellent best fish and chip had in ages not just fish and chip on menu very good mixed menu at good prices staff very friendly think waitress took a shine to our 2yr old Charlie! Set us up nicely for journey home!

“Excellent fish and chips next to the A64!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 August 2014

We often get fish and chips from Tritons (I think its called Andys now) because its quite close to where we live. The first time we got them our expectations were extremely low as they would be if you were getting fish from a location that is miles from the sea next to a busy motorway. We were amazed. Everything is freshly cooked and the fish is fantastic. I’m from near Whitby, and Tritons comes close to the quality you would get there. They are reasonably priced at around a fiver for fish and chips. As they mainly cook everything fresh there is often a short wait, but its worth waiting for freshly cooked fish and chips in my opinion. Top marks